Search
  • Mandy McHugh

Six Weeks to Live, Catherine McKenzie: A Review

The old adage about judging books by their covers is a good one, but in this case, the cover is exactly what drew me to the book. With that stellar image and intriguing summary, I was excited to be approved for an eARC and quickly dove in.

Jennifer isn't prepared when she receives the diagnosis. Cancer. Inoperable. Six weeks to live. This is reason alone to be on edge, but when she digs further into her test results and realizes that her cancer might have been a deliberate act--a poisonous act--she decides that no matter what, she will find the truth. Before it's too late. I loved this book. Six Weeks to Live is the definition of addicting. I picked it up intending to read one chapter and before I knew it, I'd finished half the book and needed to read more. Jennifer's voice is prescient, reflective, and raw. Knowing up front that she has this death sentence adds not only to the underlying urgency of her search but adds a twinge of heartbreak to every development. It's natural to root for the protagonist, to hope for that twist that will explain away the illness or grant that happy ending, and the further you get into this book, I think the more readers will cling to that hope--and that impacts the final chapters in a way that I haven't seen done in any recent titles. The daughters, the triplets, their POVs were entertaining and engrossing. I loved their relationship and all its flaws: the familial teams and their shifting allegiances, the assumptions they make about each other and the fallout that ensues from the honesty. McKenzie paints a brutally real portrayal of the darkness that lies beneath a picture-perfect family. The twists are unexpected and expertly executed, and because of that, Six Weeks to Live is a genuine page turner. The final chapter was equally satisfying and disturbing. I could see myself re-reading this book again. Overall, Six Weeks to Live is a rollercoaster thrill ride with heart and secrets. For fans of The Sinner, Gillian Flynn, or high-stakes thrillers, this will be a 2021 must-read. Add this to your TBR and thank me later. Huge thanks to Atria and NetGalley for providing an eARC in exchange for honest review consideration.

0 comments