Search
  • Mandy McHugh

FIVE STARS: The Book of Accidents, Chuck Wendig: A Review

I'm a big Wendig fan. Wanderers was one of my favorite reads last year, so when I first saw Book of Accidents announced, I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. I was beyond excited to be approved for this one, guys, and let me tell you: this is one you'll want just as much.

When Nate's estranged abusive father dies leaving him his childhood home, he's not thrilled about accepting the offer until his wife convinces him it would be the best move for their family. Oliver is sensitive, empathic, and needs a change of pace. But living so close to Ramble Rocks where a notorious serial killer committed unspeakable atrocities proves to be more than any of them bargained for; and as strange, terrifying things begin to happen, the family are forced to confront their own limitations and ask themselves: just how much am I willing to believe? And what happens if it's true? God, I loved this book. Wendig's storytelling is reminiscent of the best parts of old-school Stephen King for me. The conversational dialogue is authentic and witty. The characters leap off the page. And it's scary. From the slow-building tension through smaller creepy instances to the all-out explosions of terror, Wendig highlights exactly what I love about the horror genre. It is emotional and brave, exposing the worst of humanity while simultaneously giving hope and comfort. There's violence and gore, but there's also friendship, love, and a family unit that--while conventionally dysfunctional for some--showcases how communication and trust are invaluable. Elements of some of my favorite reads showed up here, so if you're a fan of Book IV Wizard and Glass in the Dark Tower series, you are going to love this. Notable mentions also go to Paul Tremblay's Disappearance at Devil Rock and The OA. The exploration of humanity in the larger context of what comes next is startling and ambiguous and insightful in the best possible way. Overall, The Book of Accidents is going to be one of the MUST READ BOOKS this summer. Frightening, taut, and crisply imagined, The Book of Accidents is an un-put-downable horror show full of guts and heart. For fans of SK, Paul Tremblay, or anyone who likes a dash of fantasy with their horror. Huge thank you to Del Rey/Ballantine and NetGalley for providing an eARC in exchange for honest review consideration.

0 comments