Search
  • Mandy McHugh

Down the Rabbit Hole: Rabbits, Terry Miles: A Review

I'm not a conspiracy theorist, nor do I take much stock in overarching mysteries that span governments and continents, but I do find them intriguing. So, when I read the summary for Rabbits, my interest was piqued and I quickly dove in.

Based on the popular podcast, Rabbits follows K as he tries to navigate his way through a cryptic underground game known as Rabbits. There are rules to follow. Players are anonymous, but in order to win the game, participants have to find connections--seemingly random patterns that lead them to the next step. As the next iteration of the game begins, however, K is approached by a stranger who tells him the game is broken--and the consequences could be dire. I found it strangely difficult to summarize the plot without giving away spoilers. Let me just say: I really liked this book. I've read other reviews discussing how it's similar to Ready Player One, but I've only seen that movie and didn't get the same vibes. It did, however, remind me greatly of Utopia--which revolved around a similar premise of a group of players analyzing secret clues from comic pages with similar high stakes. So, if you're like me and loved Utopia, you'll love this book. K's narration starts off really strong. His voice is endearing, humorous, and informative without info dumping. The first few chapters had me completely hooked, and I wanted to know more about Rabbits, the discrepancies, and the mysterious players. The deeper you get into this novel, however, the more of a mindbend it is. Miles plays with time, dimensional theory, and memory in a way that purposely keeps you on your toes. I didn't find K to be an unreliable narrator in so much as he's keeping things from the reader, but that you can never really trust the information you're being given. Everything has to be taken with a grain of salt because nothing is as it seems. And if it is, there may be another equally true event coinciding with that truth that you also have to consider. Like I said: MINDBEND. I loved this aspect though and found the commentary and dissection around the clues interesting and off-putting. The structure, for the most part, worked well. The chapters moved, the titles were great, and the writing felt authentic. No forced dialogue or cringey moments. I thought the flashbacks were a little longwinded at times, and while purposeful, I might've trimmed them a bit to cut down on some sections that felt dense. Overall, though, Rabbits is a twisty, unpredictable adventure that will leave you questioning every pattern, coincidence, and synchronicity you've encountered. For fans of Utopia, Inception, Umbrella Academy, or Da Vinci Code-esque pattern-searching action scenes, Rabbits will be the book for you. Out in June, let's talk about quantum theory on the flip side. Big thanks to Del Ray and NetGalley for providing an eARC in exchange for honest review consideration.

0 comments